Newsmakers: GCG Marketing makes promotions



GCG Marketing has promoted Lindsay Hendon to executive director of account services and Alli McFadden and Andrea Ortega to art director.


Gov. Greg Abbott has appointed Anthony Scoma to the Texas State Board of Examiners of Marriage and Family Therapists for a term set to expire on Feb. 1, 2021. The governor also appointed Rich Stoglin and reappointed George Francis IV for terms set to expire Feb. 1, 2023. The board licenses and regulates marriage and family therapists in Texas.

- FWBP Digital Partners -

Stoglin, of Arlington, is the CEO of The Stoglin Group. He serve as a chaplain in the U.S. Navy for 28 years. He previously was special senior adviser to U.S. generals and command coalition staff in Afghanistan; regiment chaplain, 14th Marines, USMC (U.S. Navy reservist), and department head of religious services in the Federal Bureau of Prisons.

Gov. Greg Abbott has reappointed Christina Melton Crain, Tori Lucas and Joe McCleskey and appointed Megan Deen, Jerry House, Steve Roberts, Dave Ward and Cathy Altman to the Trinity River Authority board of directors for terms set to expire on March 15, 2023. The authority oversees development and conservation of surface water resources of the Trinity River Basin.

Deen, of Fort Worth, is the chief financial officer for the Fort Worth Zoological Association. She is a member of the Texas Society of Certified Public Accountants, American Institute of Certified Public Accountants and the Association of Zoos and Aquariums. She is a sustainer of the Junior League of Fort Worth, former committee member of the Harris Methodist Breakfast with St. NICUlas and former volunteer for the March of Dimes Fort Worth. Deen received a bachelor’s degree and a master’s degree in accountancy from Texas Christian University.


- Advertisement -

The Initiative for a Competitive Inner City (ICIC) announced that Construction Cost Management Inc. of Fort Worth has made the 2018 Inner City 100 list of the fastest-growing inner city businesses in America, based on revenue growth.

The company specializes in government estimating standards and was ranked 20th based on its growth rate from 2013 to 2017 of 538.41 percent. It is led by President Katy Kothmann Abraham.

ICIC, a 25-year-old national nonprofit founded by Harvard Business School professor Michael E. Porter, promotes economic prosperity in America’s inner cities through private sector investment that leads to jobs, income and wealth creation for local residents.

NAI Robert Lynn received the NAI Global President’s Award for the Primary Region Market. The award recognizes NAI offices that have demonstrated a commitment to the strategic vision of the enterprise by leading in action as evidenced by teamwork, leadership and/or business generation. The Primary Region Market consists of 20 NAI offices in the largest markets nationwide. The award was presented at the 2018 NAI Global Convention in Austin.

- Advertisement -

“We’re honored for our brokers to be recognized for their commitment to the industry and to the NAI Global organization,” said NAI Robert Lynn President Mark Miller.

Four small-business owners in the Dallas-Fort Worth area received the 2018 Governor’s Small Business Award, presented by first lady Cecilia Abbott at the Governor’s Business Forum for Women held in September. Those winners were Crystal Arredondo of MPACT Financial Group LLC, Rosa Navejar of The Rios Group, Inc., Sharon Douglas of Potere Construction and Darla Beggs of Abba Staffing.

The forum was hosted by the Texas Governor’s Office in partnership with the Arlington Chamber of Commerce, National Association of Women Business Owners, and Workforce Solutions for Tarrant County.

Former U.S. Marine Col. Vance L. Cryer, a Fort Worth native and a graduate of the University of Texas at Arlington, has been named to the 2019 class of the Horatio Alger Association of Distinguished Americans Inc.

Cryer attended UT Arlington on a Horatio Alger Scholarship and his inclusion in the 2019 class marks the first time in the 71-year history of the association that it has inducted an alumni scholar.

“This is a tremendous moment for the association as Vance’s life story is one to be admired and celebrated,” said Matthew Rose, executive chairman of BNSF and president of the Alger Association.


Arlington Police Chief Will Johnson was sworn in as vice president at-large for the International Association of Chiefs of Police during the association’s annual banquet.

Johnson becomes the first Arlington police chief in the IACP’s125-year history to hold such a position. The IACP is the largest law enforcement leadership organization in the world, representing over 36,000 members.


Textron Inc. announced that Scott Ernest, president and CEO of Textron Aviation Inc. since 2011, has been named president and CEO of Textron’s Industrial Segment and of Textron Specialized Vehicles Inc.

Ronald Draper, Textron Aviation’s senior vice president, integrated supply chain (operations), will succeed Ernest as president and CEO of Textron Aviation Inc. Draper joined Textron in 1999 and has held leadership roles in various business units, including vice president of integrated supply chain and director of strategic sourcing for E-Z-GO, director of procurement for the V-22 program at Bell Helicopter and director of supply chain production development at Cessna.

Send newsmakers to Robert Francis at