People – Feb. 10, 2014


Boards & Organizations New board members elected at Historic Fort Worth Inc. are: Robert G. Adams, immediate past chairman, Historic and Cultural Landmarks Commission of the city of Fort Worth; Cara Kennemer, attorney, Underwood Law Firm PC; Pati Meadows, attorney, Kelly Hart & Hallman LLP; and Cecil F. Smith, architect and engineer. Officers of the organization are: Chairman, John Roberts; Secretary, Randi Thistlewaite; Treasurer, Chad Kirkham; and Immediate Past President, Wini Klein. The Greater Fort Worth Association of Realtors 2014 officers are: President, Carol Van Hook,  broker/owner Mira Vista, Realtors; Vice President/President-Elect, Michael Langford,  sales associate, Orr & Associates Real Estate; Secretary, Jaci Coan, broker/owner, RE/MAX Trinity; and Immediate Past President, Clay Brants,  president, Brants Inc.

Health Care Galderma S.A. appointed health care industry veteran Stuart Raetzman, CEO of Galderma Laboratories LP and vice president North America effective March 1. Raetzman also was elected to the company’s Global Executive Committee. Raetzman joins Galderma after 20 years with Alcon, a division of Novartis, where he had senior leadership roles in the U.S. and Europe. Victory Healthcare named Cheryl Spencer as the new CEO of Victory Medical Center Fort Worth. Spencer has 16 years of surgery center administration experience. In 2002, she helped open Clear Fork Surgery Center in Fort Worth, and served as administrator from 2002-2012. When the center was purchased by Texas Health Resources and renamed Harris Outpatient Surgery Center, Spencer was hired as the administrator and led the transition of the surgery center to a hospital outpatient surgery department. Dr. Sesha Uppalapati has joined USMD Affiliated Services at its Mid Cities Clinic. She completed her fellowship in hepatology at the University of Medicine and Dentistry in Newark, N.J., and her residency in internal medicine at St. Luke’s Hospital in Bethlehem, Pa. Forest Park Medical Center appointed Rodney Bice chief operating officer and chief nursing officer for its new Fort Worth campus, scheduled to open in August. Bice comes to Forest Park from Pikes Peak Regional Hospital and Surgery Center in Woodland Park, Colo., where he served as interim CEO and CNO. He brings more than 20 years of health care experience, having had leadership roles in surgical care, cardiology services and nursing.

Honors & Awards Wendy Hendry has won the Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching, one of only 102 in the nation. She teaches kindergarten at Bransford Elementary School in Colleyville. She receives $10,000 from the National Science Foundation to be used at her discretion and an expense-paid trip to Washington, D.C., for the White House awards ceremony and several days of educational and celebratory events. Lisa Artman, owner of The Skin Clinic, is one of three statewide winners of the Women Veteran Entrepreneur Corps small business competition. She receives $1,000 and nine months of professional mentoring and training.

- FWBP Digital Partners -

Nonprofit Organizations After eight years with the organization, Cynthia B. Nunn – photo – will retire from the Center for Nonprofit Management at the end of the current fiscal year, March 31. She has agreed to remain with the organization until a replacement is in place. Nunn has more than 40 years of service to the nonprofit community.

Tourism, Entertainment & Leisure Stacey Pierce, executive director of Streams & Valleys Inc., has been named producer of the inaugural Fort Worth Food + Wine Festival, slated for March 27-30. Pierce owns her own firm, Pierce Communications. For more than six years, she was the director of marketing and communications for Downtown Fort Worth Inc. She also has served in key roles for many high-profile organizations in her career, including director of development at the Fort Worth Zoo, marketing manager at the Fort Worth Symphony Orchestra and director of marketing and admission at All Saints’ Episcopal School.

Send People items to Betty Dillard at

Baylor Grapevine names Huned Husain physician of the year Dr. Huned Husain,  a hospitalist at Baylor Regional Medical Center at Grapevine, has been named the 2013 James V. Bonnet Physician of the Year. He has been an active member on the hospital’s medical staff for more than eight years. At Baylor Scott & White Health, Husain serves as the system physician informatics leader for the West Region with the Office of Physician Informatics. He also serves as the medical director of utilization review at Baylor Grapevine. Previously, he led the Physician EHR Council at Baylor Grapevine to successfully implement Computerized Physician Order Entry. Additionally, he chaired the Division of Hospital Medicine at Baylor Grapevine and is an active member of the subcommittee of Baylor Quality Alliance/Inpatient Medicine, the Physician Leadership Council and the Sepsis Task Force. Husain is board certified in family medicine and recognition of focused practice in hospital medicine. He is a member of Society of Hospital Medicine and was conferred the title of Fellow in Hospital Medicine for his services and contributions. He was the practice group leader for IPC Hospitalists from 2004 to 2013.

- Advertisement -

Doug Williams to receive Davey O’Brien award Doug Williams,  who in 1988 became the first and only African-American starting quarterback to win the Super Bowl, is the recipient of the 2013 Davey O’Brien Legends Award in honor of his outstanding contributions to the game of football both on and off the field. Williams will be presented with the award at the 37th Annual Davey O’Brien Awards Dinner on Feb. 17 in Fort Worth. Williams is best known for his performance in Super Bowl XXII. Named the MVP, he passed for a Super Bowl record 340 yards and four touchdowns, with one interception. He also became the first player in Super Bowl history to pass for four touchdowns in a single quarter, and four in a half. Williams played for the Tampa Bay Buccaneers and signed with the Washington Redskins in 1986. Following his retirement from football, Williams returned home to coach high school football in Louisiana from 1991-1993. He began his college coaching career as an assistant at Navy in 1994. In 1997, he was named the head coach at Morehouse College and spent one year at the school before he was chosen to replace his college mentor at Grambling State University. Williams, a two-time Black College Player of the Year, was inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame in 2001.