Saturday, May 15, 2021
63.2 F
Fort Worth

People: Jan. 20, 2014


Retail RadioShack Corp. continues to rebuild its leadership team with the appointment of specialty retail industry veteran John W. Feray as its new executive vice president and chief financial officer effective Feb. 6. Feray joins RadioShack from Dollar General Corp., where he has been senior vice president-finance and strategy since 2008 under both private equity ownership and as a public company. Prior to joining Dollar General, Feray served as senior vice president and CFO of First American Payment Systems and Haggar Corp. He has an extensive background in financial management that began at Arthur Andersen where he served as an audit manager. RadioShack’s Interim CFO Holly Etlin will continue as a member of the AlixPartners team advising the company on its operational turnaround.

Architecture Design industry veteran Dan Noble succeeded H. Ralph Hawkins as president and CEO of Dallas-based HKS Inc. on Jan. 1. Noble’s projects have been honored by Texas Society of Architects, Progressive Architecture, Architectural Record, Texas Architect, AIA Dallas Chapter, Architecture for Health Facilities Review, AIA Arkansas Chapter, Symposium on Healthcare Design, Healthcare Design magazine and the Modern Healthcare design awards program. Noble joined HKS in 1983. Beginning as an intern architect, he moved up the ranks through the commercial and health care design studios. In 2001, he was elected a principal and shareholder. In 2009, he was elected to the HKS Executive Committee. He served as the director of design for the entire firm from 2001 through 2013.

Boards & Organizations The Fort Worth Public Library Foundation’s board members for 2014 are Becky Bullard, John Crawford, Thom Fox, Kathryn McGlinchey and Marilyn Roach. They join returning board members: Lori Adams, Judy Alton, Karen Barlow, Carolyn Bell, Adrean M. Boyd, Delores Buckalew, Judith J. Carrier, Diana Cavazos, Barbara Cordray, Will A. Courtney Sr., Homer Davis, Carlos Flores, John Freese, James Hambleton, Dee Dee Herring, Melissa Hickman, Julia Huseman, Ginger Johnson, Walter Littlejohn, Bond Malone, Martin McDonald, Elizabeth Murphy, Atlee Phillips, Karen S. Precella, Cynthia Reaves, Michael Rodriguez, Betty Rutherford, Brian W. Salvant, Linda Scroggie, Ann Simms, Anne Simpson, Todd Spake, Priscilla Veeder, June P. Wolff and Elena Yorio. Officers are Thomas E. Turner, chairman; Bill Booker, vice chairman; Jacob Smith, treasurer; Louis Stripling, assistant treasurer; and Nancy Knight, secretary. The 2014 board of the Fort Worth Stockyards Business Association includes: President, Keith Powell, owner/publisher, Fort Worth Key Magazine; First Vice President, Marti Taylor, Cattlemen’s Fort Worth Steak House; Second Vice President, H.B. “Hub” Baker, executive director/producer Stockyards Rodeo, Cowtown Coliseum; Third Vice President, George Westby, QuickPark; Fourth Vice President, Gary Brinkley, general manager, Stockyards Station; Treasurer, Bob Watkins, Watkins Printing Services; Secretary, Robert McKibben, retired from West Equipment & Service Corp.; Past President, Kristin Jaworski, trail boss, Fort Worth Herd; and Directors, Nancy Gill, director of marketing, Superior Livestock Auction & Superior Productions, J.L. Harris, insurance executive director, and Trey Gordon, Law Office of Trey Gordon PC. The World Affairs Council of Dallas/Fort Worth added new board members. Marjorie A. Adams, president and CEO of Adams & Associates Inc., has been elected vice chairman and Michael Decker, principal of Wingate Partners LP, was re-elected treasurer. Attorney Robert W. Kantner, a partner at Jones Day law firm, continues to serve as chairman. New members are David Jacobs, chief financial officer, chief compliance officer, treasurer and founding partner of E2M Partners LLC; Esther Ferre’, general manager for Computer Services Industry for IBM; William Hayes, senior vice president of external affairs at Kosmos Energy Ltd.; Jan Miller, founder and CEO of Dupree/Miller & Associates; Linda Shaffer, organizational change consultant in private practice; and Victor Vital, shareholder in the Dallas office of the law firm Greenberg Traurig LLP. Returning to the board after a term limit hiatus of one year are veteran directors: Talmage Boston, Winstead PC shareholder and author; Sano Blocker, senior vice president of public affairs at Energy Future Holdings; and Kristy Hoglund Robinson, Highland Park Education Foundation board member and program officer for The Hoglund Foundation.

Honors & Awards Kathy Doyle Thomas, executive vice president and chief strategy officer at Half Price Books, received the Silver Plaque Award from the National Retail Federation for her outstanding leadership and contributions to the retail industry and the NRF.

Law Shareholders added to the new Fort Worth office of The Underwood Law Firm PC are Cara D. Kennemer, Rick Lambert and Richard E. Schellhammer. Kennemer focuses on construction law and business litigation, with an emphasis on design professional malpractice defense, and commercial and residential construction litigation. Lambert has 22 years of experience helping clients solve their legal issues in the areas of governance, employment, contract procurement, real estate, construction and dispute resolution at hearings and in litigation. Kelly Hart & Hallman LLP named Natalie J. Carlgren, David W. Cook and Christopher S. Greer as partners. Carlgren focuses her practice on corporate and securities transactions. Cook represents individuals and corporate clients in general corporate matters and mergers and acquisitions. Greer represents clients in civil litigation and general business matters. Nonprofit Organizations The Cliburn promoted Marianne Pohle, formerly grants manager, to director of development and Alissa Ford, formerly director of finance, to chief financial officer. Pohle, a former professional dancer, has served on the Cliburn’s development staff since October 2009. She came to Fort Worth after a seven-year stint with Altria Corporate Services Inc., where she managed the arts program. Ford, a CPA and certified fraud examiner, joined the Cliburn in August 2012.

Send People items to Betty Dillard at  

Would you like the option to login with your social media account?
Login using Facebook, Google, or LinkedIn instead of having to create a FWBP account?

Get our email updates

Robert Francis
Robert is a Fort Worth native and longtime editor of the Fort Worth Business Press. He is a former president of the local Society of Professional Journalists and was a freelancer for a variety of newspapers, weeklies and magazines, including American Way, BrandWeek and InformatonWeek. A graduate of TCU, Robert has held a variety of writing and editing positions at publications such as the Grand Prairie Daily News and InfoWorld. He is also a musician and playwright.

Related Articles

Our Digital Sponsors

Stay Connected


Join Our Newsletter

Latest Articles