Tarrant County Minority Leaders in Business Awards

🕐 2 min read

Fort Worth Business Press recognized Tarrant County’s top minority leaders in business and the community at the Minority Leaders in Business Awards on Dec. 15 at the Fort Worth Club. 

Devoyd Jennings, president and CEO of the Fort Worth Metropolitan Black Chamber of Commerce and a longtime leader in the community, was honored with the Lifetime Achievement Award.

Jennings was noted for his ability to work across racial and economic lines with a variety of community leaders on projects that benefit the whole area. “Our chamber is dedicated to economics and education and we will continue to be,” he said.

Lillie Biggins, president of Texas Health Harris Methodist Hospital Fort Worth, received the first annual Erma Johnson Hadley Legacy Award, named in honor of the late chancellor of Tarrant County College. Her daughter, Ardenia Gould, was there to present the award. Gould is also chair of The Chancellor’s Promise, an organization that honors Hadley’s legacy as an educator, a philanthropist and a civic leader.

- Advertisement -

Speaking of Biggins, Gould said, “Lillie is a trailblazer and a can-do spirit and a woman my mother would have described as a ‘bad mamma-jamma.’ A woman who gets it done, a woman who thinks hard, a woman speaks her mind, a woman who speaks her mind, a woman who is blazing trails, a woman who is knocking on those glass ceilings and blazing trails for those coming behind her.”

“It’s my joy and my privilege to receive this award that’s named for her because she was so committed to this community,” said Biggins. “I take it as a great honor, a special honor because she was so committed to this great community.”

Receiving the 2016 Legend Award was Father Stephen Jasso, who has been pastor of All Saints Catholic Church since 1994.

He is known for his community involvement and is noted as an advisor for local businesspeople, particularly on Fort Worth’s Northside.

- Advertisement -

“I have been blessed, no doubt, to be surrounded by good leaders,” he said. “Leadership is about giving your talents, your resources and your time.”

2016 Minority Leaders in Business

Honorees were chosen based on professional achievements, community contributions, philanthropy and other milestones and awards.

2016 Lifetime Achievement Award

- Advertisement -

Devoyd Jennings

Fort Worth Metropolitan Black Chamber of Commerce

2016 Erma Johnson Hadley Legacy Award

Lillie Biggins

Texas Health Harris Methodist Hospital Fort Worth

2016 Legend Award

Father Stephen Jasso

All Saints Catholic Church and School

2016 Minority Leaders in Business

Gerald B. Alley & Joseph Breedlove, Con-Real

John Avila, Thos. S. Byrne

Glenn S. Forbes, JPMorgan

John Hernandez, Fort Worth Hispanic Chamber of Commerce

Aslam Khan, Falcon Holdings

Rosa Navejar, The Rios Group Inc.

Oscar Oaxaca, BASECOM

Vince E. Puente, Sr., Southwest Office Systems Inc.

Norma Roby, RSH Concessions LLC

Al Saenz, MULTATECH Architects and Engineers

Liz Trevino, North Texas Area Community Health Centers

Tim Vela, A.S.T. Landscape

More pictures from Minority Business Leaders event

Robert is a Fort Worth native and longtime editor of the Fort Worth Business Press. He is a former president of the local Society of Professional Journalists and was a freelancer for a variety of newspapers, weeklies and magazines, including American Way, BrandWeek and InformatonWeek. A graduate of TCU, Robert has held a variety of writing and editing positions at publications such as the Grand Prairie Daily News and InfoWorld. He is also a musician and playwright.

Related Articles

Our Digital Sponsors

Latest Articles