Wednesday, June 23, 2021
83.8 F
Fort Worth

Two incumbents lose seats on Fort Worth City Council

🕐 2 min read

Along with the first new mayor in 10 years, the Fort Worth City Council will see several new faces following the June 5 runoff.

Two incumbents appear to have lost their seats – longtime council member Jungas Jordan in District 6 and Kelly Allen Gray in District 8. With one seat open because of a retirement and two more seats open because the council members ran unsuccessfully for mayor, only three council members will carry over. In District 3, Michael Crain won outright in the May election and has been serving in that position.

Jordan was defeated by Jaren Williams, a nonprofit leader and science educator. Gray lost to Chris Nettles, a local business owner and pastor who ran unsuccessfully for mayor in 2017. In the open seats, entrepreneur and businessman Leonard Firestone defeated Zeb Pent in the District 7 runoff. Incumbent Dennis Shingleton, who was first elected in 2011, decided not to run again.

In the District 9 race, Elizabeth M. Beck, an employment attorney, defeated Fernando Peralta, a logistics specialist.

Other closely watched runoffs included the Arlington mayor’s race, where Jim Ross defeated Michael Glaspie.

Below are vote percentages from the Tarrant County Elections Office. Because some of the districts extend into Parker and Denton counties, the percentages may be different when final totals are released.  

Fort Worth Independent School District Board of Directors District 9

Roxanne Martinez

Cade Lovelace

Arlington Mayor

Jim Ross

Michael Glaspie

Fort Worth City Council District 6

Jungus Jordan (I)

Jared Williams

Fort Worth City Council District 7

Zeb Pent

Leonard Firestone

Fort Worth City Council District 8

Kelly Allen Gray (I)

Chris Nettles

Fort Worth City Council District 9

Elizabeth M. Beck

Fernando Peralta

Robert Francis
Robert is a Fort Worth native and longtime editor of the Fort Worth Business Press. He is a former president of the local Society of Professional Journalists and was a freelancer for a variety of newspapers, weeklies and magazines, including American Way, BrandWeek and InformatonWeek. A graduate of TCU, Robert has held a variety of writing and editing positions at publications such as the Grand Prairie Daily News and InfoWorld. He is also a musician and playwright.

Related Articles

Our Digital Sponsors

Latest Articles