33 F
Fort Worth
Friday, December 4, 2020
How Recent Political Changes Will Impact Your Bottom Line
Culture 2019 Lone Star Film Festival Gala Honors Tim Blake Nelson and Waylon...

2019 Lone Star Film Festival Gala Honors Tim Blake Nelson and Waylon Payne

Other News

Book celebrates defunct newspaper on anniversary of demise

By ANDREW WELSH-HUGGINS Associated PressCOLUMBUS, Ohio (AP) — The Vindicator in Youngstown, a 150-year-old paper that shut down last year because of financial struggles,...

D Magazine founder Wick Allison dies

D Magazine founder and longtime publisher Wick Allison died Sept. 1 after a lengthy battle with cancer, according to a story in D Magazine. Allison...

Fortress Festival team launching Fort Worth-based creative agency

The team behind Fortress Festival is launching Fortress Creative, a new full-service creative agency focused on serving brands and local businesses. The team’s current projects...

Local agencies take home national honors at AAF program

Balcom Agency wins five silver awards Balcom Agency, a Fort Worth agency founded in 1993, was awarded five ADDY awards at the national American Advertising...

2019 Lone Star Film Festival Gala Honors Tim Blake Nelson and Waylon Payne

Lone Star Film Festival (LSFF) has officially announced The 2019 Annual Gala honorees, featuring critically acclaimed actor, writer, and director Tim Blake Nelson as this year’s Bill Paxton Achievement in Film Award.

The award will be presented at the 13th Annual Lone Star Film Festival Gala on Nov. 14, 2019, and recognizes artists who have distinguished themselves over time by the quality of their work and continue to excite audiences with their risk-taking craft throughout their careers.

Lone Star Film Festival attendees will also have the unique opportunity to experience a special screening of Just Mercy, which will not be nationally released until Dec. 25, 2019, as well as the classic O Brother, Where Art Thou? Screening dates and times to be announced.

Tim Blake Nelson has worked with legendary filmmakers Steven Spielberg, Ang Lee, Terrence Malick, and the Coen Brothers, who cast Tim in his now-iconic, breakthrough role in 1997’s O Brother, Where Art Thou? Nelson’s performance in Just Mercy has been called “riveting” “shocking” “sterling” and “flawless” for his supporting role as Ralph Meyers, a convicted felon in an Alabama state prison who has a pivotal role in the heart-breaking and inspiring true story of activist Bryan Stevenson’s career.

“We are thrilled to honor Mr. Nelson at the 13th Annual Lone Star Film Festival Gala. Throughout his esteemed career, Nelson has continued to thrill audiences with his authentic and incredible performances. The Bill Paxton Achievement in Film Award is dedicated to celebrating filmmakers like Nelson and we look forward to presenting it to him in November,” LSFF Executive Director Chad Mathews said in a news release.

GRAMMY-nominated country music artist Waylon Payne will receive the Stephen Bruton Award, which celebrates exceptional artists whose careers, although anchored in music, includes artistic expression in film. Payne will be presented The Stephen Bruton Award by GRAMMY Award-winning musician Lee Ann Womack and Amy Nelson, the acclaimed singer-songwriter and daughter of famed Willie Nelson.

Payne is recognized for his artistic contribution in Golden Globe winner Walk the Line (2005) in which he played pioneer of rock n’ roll, Jerry Lee Lewis.

This year will also include the presentation of the special Chairman Emeritus Recognition award honoring Steve Murrin, long-time friend of Fort Worth film advocate and Lone Star Film Society Co-Founder Johnny Langdon, founder of River Ranch Stockyards, and a co-owner of Billy Bob’s Texas, for his long time support and celebration of the Lone Star Film Society.

The Lone Star Film Festival runs Nov. 13-17, 2019.

For tickets:


Event Details:

12th Annual Lone Star Festival Gala

Thursday, Nov. 14, 2019 | 6:00 p.m.

The Worthington Renaissance Fort Worth Hotel – Grand Ballroom

200 Main Street, Fort Worth, TX 76102

Purchase Gala Tickets:


Lone Star Film Festival:

November 13-17, 2019

Screenings held at AMC Palace 9 + Events held at ALOFT Hotel Downtown Fort Worth and The Worthington Renaissance.

Purchase All-Access Badges: https://www.goelevent.com/LSFF/Pass/Sale

2019 Line-up: https://www.lonestarfilmfestival.com/2019-lsff-films


Oh hi there 👋 It’s nice to meet you.

Sign up to receive awesome content in your inbox.

We don’t spam! Read our privacy policy for more info.


Oh hi there 👋
It’s nice to meet you.

Sign up to receive awesome content in your inbox.

We don’t spam! Read our privacy policy for more info.

Latest News

Roddy Ricch has Apple Music’s top album, song of 2020

NEW YORK (AP) — Roddy Ricch is the king of Apple Music: The rapper has the music platform’s most-streamed song and album of the...

Warner Bros. to release all 2021 films on HBO Max, theaters

NEW YORK (AP) — In the most seismic shift by a Hollywood studio yet during the pandemic, Warner Bros. Pictures on Thursday announced that...

Holiday movies, music specials arrive to light a bleak year

LOS ANGELES (AP) — Bring on the sentimental holiday rom-coms, the chorus of Christmas music specials and the nostalgia of last century’s animated charmers....

The Sundance Film Festival goes largely virtual for 2021

Leave the snow boots, parkas and glove warmers in the closet, the 2021 Sundance Film Festival is coming down from the mountain and straight...

Who did it? TV viewers intrigued by HBO’s ‘The Undoing’

NEW YORK (AP) — The dramatic conclusion to “The Undoing,” HBO’s whodunit starring Hugh Grant and Nicole Kidman, proved how it’s still possible to...