Cliburn Semifinalists named

John Giordano, chairman of the jury for the Fourteenth Van Cliburn International Piano Competition announced the 12 pianists advancing to the Semifinal Round on May 30. The semifinalists are: Nikita Abrosimov, 24, Russia Sean Chen, 24, United States Alexey Chernov, 30, Russia Alessandro Deljavan, 26, Italy Fei-Fei Dong, 22, China Jayson Gillham, 26, Australia/United Kingdom Claire Huangci, 23, United States Vadym Kholodenko, 26, Ukraine Nikolay Khozyainov, 20, Russia Nikita Mndoyants, 24, Russia Beatrice Rana, 20, Italy Tomoki Sakata, 19, Japan In the Semifinal Round, each of the 12 competitors will perform twice. They will play a recital not to exceed 60 minutes in length; the program will consist of works chosen by the pianist, but must include the Cliburn-commissioned work by contemporary composer Christopher Theofanidis. Every pianist will also perform a piano quintet with the Brentano String Quartet chosen from works by Brahms, Dvoák, Franck, and Schumann. The Cliburn runs through June 9 at Bass Performance Hall For the complete schedule of Semifinal Round performances, click here.