Tuesday, September 28, 2021
70.9 F
Fort Worth

CNN anchor Anderson Cooper to receive Walter Cronkite Award

🕐 1 min read

PHOENIX (AP) — Arizona State University is awarding its 2018 Walter Cronkite Award for Excellence in Journalism to CNN anchor Anderson Cooper.

He will receive the award on Oct. 17 in Phoenix from the university’s Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication.

Cooper says he’s honored and humbled to receive the award because Cronkite “sparked my interest in journalism at a young age.”

Cooper has been with CNN since 2001. He also has been a regular contributor to “60 Minutes” on CBS since 2006.

The 34 previous Cronkite Award winners include Bob Woodward, Tom Brokaw, Al Michaels, Scott Pelley, Diane Sawyer, Judy Woodruff and Helen Thomas.

ASU’s School of Journalism and Mass Communication was named in Cronkite’s honor in 1984.

The famed CBS News anchor died in 2009.

Related Articles

Our Digital Sponsors

Latest Articles

Not ready to subscribe?

Try a few articles on us.

Enter your email address and we will give you access to three articles a month, to give us a try. You also get an opportunity to receive our newsletter with stories of the day.

Get our email updates

Stay up-to-date with the issues, companies and people that matter most to business in the Fort Worth.

  • Restaurants
  • Technology
  • and more!

FWBP Morning Brief

FWBP 5@5

Weekend Newsletter

  • Banking & Finance
  • Culture
  • Real Estate