77.2 F
Fort Worth
Thursday, October 22, 2020
Culture Life More Great Reading Ideas For Fans Of Horror, Thrillers And Satire

More Great Reading Ideas For Fans Of Horror, Thrillers And Satire

Other News

Rethinking Screen Time for Kids

(StatePoint) As families try to establish a new normal, balancing screen time for kids has become not only especially challenging, but more important than...

Seniors with diabetes: Important questions to ask your doctor now

(BPT) - If you're a senior with diabetes, you're not alone. The statistics are eye opening — more than 25% of Americans age 65...

Connecting in kindness during troubling times

(BPT) - The theory that the world is interconnected to such a degree that the fluttering of a butterfly’s wing in Africa could cause...

Protecting Your Financial Health During the COVID-19 Outbreak [Video]

Sorry, but your browser does not support the video tag.(BPT) - The COVID-19 outbreak has many Americans quickly trying to adjust to a new...

“Monsterland” by Michael Okon

(NAPSI)—Author Michael Okon is an expert in humanizing monsters and “monsterizing” humans. Never is this more apparent than in his innovative “Monsterland,” in which the protagonist, in many ways, is a groundbreaking theme park where guests can interact with vampires, be chased by werewolves, and walk among the dead in Zombieville.

Wyatt Baldwin’s senior year is not going well for a number of reasons. But that all changes when Wyatt and his friends are invited to attend the grand opening of Monsterland. With real werewolves, vampires and zombies as the main attractions, what could possibly go wrong? Only everything. From Wordfire Press, purchase at https://amzn.to/2lj3H8U.

“Monsterland Reanimated” by Michael Okon

Confining Okon’s “Monsterland” series to only one book is not enough. That’s because the author has a lot of cleaning up to do since the end of his weird and wacky “Monsterland.”

The sequel, “Monsterland Reanimated,” is aptly named. Many creatures and villains you so lovingly met in book one have been restored to life and given fresh vigor, which they use in the continued quest of their sinister leader, Vincent Konrad, to achieve world dominance. Once again, Okon’s imagination runs wild with a zany plot, fast-paced writing, and a unique blend of gore and sarcasm. From Wordfire Press, purchase at https://amzn.to/2JkpKot

“The Kill Club” by Wendy Heard

Jazz will stop at nothing to save her brother. Their foster mother, Carol, has always been fanatical, but with Jazz grown up and out of the house, Carol takes a dangerous turn that threatens 13-year-old Joaquin’s life. Over and over, child services fails to intervene, and Joaquin is running out of time.

Then Jazz gets a blocked call from someone offering a solution. There are others like her—people the law has failed. They’re taking back their power and leaving a trail of bodies throughout Los Angeles—dubbed the Blackbird Killings. If Jazz joins them, they’ll take care of Carol for good. All she has to do is kill a stranger. From MIRA, purchase at https://amzn.to/33Z4fAK.

“The Optimist” (audiobook) by Roy E. Schreiber

This unique audiobook presents a satirical view of college professors. It features Ralph, a philosphy professor who believes logic is the answer to all problems—from bringing justice to everyone to fixing personal relationships. In the course of organizing a faculty labor union to negotiate for better pay as well as a public lecture series in the chancellor’s name, he inadvertently sparks an unlikely and turbulent romance between the two colleagues he finagles into speaking: an arrogant three-time-divorced English History professor and a Women’s Studies professor.

Ralph’s optimism is severely tested when King Henry VIII, his queen, Ann Boleyn, the poet Thomas Wyatt and Harry Houdini all somehow get thrown into the mix. Purchase at https://amzn.to/35clErq.

• BookBites is a continuing series bringing readers information and ideas for their next read. For more reading ideas, visit BookTrib.com and subscribe to the weekly newsletter.

clicktotweet “Great reading ideas for fans of horror, thrillers and satire include “Monsterland” and “Monsterland Reanimated” by Michael Okon, “The Kill Club” by Wendy Heard and the audiobook “The Optimist” by Roy E. Schreiber. All available through BookBites. http://bit.ly/2uLKssP

On the Net:North American Precis Syndicate, Inc.(NAPSI)

Latest News

Drive-through holiday light show debuts in three North Texas cities

Radiance! A Holiday Light Spectacular is set to light up North Texas from Wednesday, Nov. 11 to Sunday, Jan. 3, in Weatherford,...

What to Know: Be careful what you wish for, it may bite back

DNA has made some big changes in our lives. In many of our lives, we now have some tangible link to our...

Remains found in search for 1921 Tulsa race massacre victims

By KEN MILLLER Associated PressOKLAHOMA CITY (AP) — At least 10 bodies were found Wednesday in an unmarked mass grave at a...

Today in History: Let there be light!

By The Associated Press undefinedToday in HistoryToday is Wednesday, Oct. 21, the 295th day of 2020. There are 71 days left in...

Fort Worth Business Press adds Shop section

Purchase the 2020 Book of Lists, subscriptions The Fort Worth Business Press has opened a new "Shop" section...