61.7 F
Fort Worth
Monday, January 25, 2021

Music released from ‘This is Us’ Season II

This Is Us (Music from the Series) Season 2, a companion to the NBC show that spans several different time periods is now available via UMe for download purchase and streaming. This Is Us Season 2 finale, “The Wedding,” aired March 13.

The second season soundtrack includes 17 recognizable hits and classics curated by This Is Us Creator/Executive Producer Dan Fogelman and his team, music supervisor Jennifer Pyken and composer/musician Siddhartha Khosla.

This Is Us chronicles the Pearson family across the decades: from Jack (Milo Ventimiglia) and Rebecca (Mandy Moore) as young parents in the 1980s and 1990s to their now adult kids Kevin (Justin Hartley), Kate (Chrissy Metz) and Randall (Sterling K. Brown) searching for love, fulfillment and healing in the present day. This grounded, life-affirming drama reveals how the events in our lives – both big and small – impact who we become, and how the connections we share with each other can transcend time, distance and even death. Chris Sullivan, Susan Kelechi Watson and Ron Cephas Jones also star.

The Season 2 soundtrack album opens with “Watch Me” by Grey Reverend and closes with “Beauty and Pain” by Hannah Miller. Also featured is Chrissy Metz’s gripping performance of “Landslide,” Elton John’s “Madman Across The Water,” The National’s “The System Only Dreams In Total Darkness,” Eva Cassidy’s version of “Time After Time,” Father John Misty’s”Ballad Of The Dying Man,” Little River Band’s “Lonesome Loser,” Fleet Foxes’ “If You Need To, Keep Time On Me,” and several other songs heard on the show this season.

This Is Us (Music from the Series) Season 1 and This Is Us (Original Score) are also available. Released February 2, the score album features 23 original pieces from composer/musician Siddhartha Khosla’s score for the show. Released last September, the 20-track Season 1 soundtrack album opens with “Death With Dignity” by Sufjan Stevens, instantly recognizable as a tone-setting music cue from the series’ debut episode, and concludes with “This Is Us Score Suite” by Khosla. Also featured is a rare cover version of Peter Gabriel’s “Come Talk To Me” by Khosla’s critically acclaimed band Goldspot, which has been praised by Gabriel himself, and “We Can Always Come Back To This,” the original song composed by Khosla and Chris Pierce, performed by Brian Tyree Henry in Season 1’s pivotal “Memphis” episode. The soulful, Stax-inspired song connected with the show’s audience, topping Billboard’s Blues Singles chart at No. 1 for four consecutive weeks and reaching No. 12 on iTunes’ Top 100 Songs chart.

“This Is Us” was created by Dan Fogelman and is produced by 20th Century Fox Television. Fogelman, John Requa, Glenn Ficarra, Ken Olin, Isaac Aptaker, Elizabeth Berger, Jess Rosenthal and Charlie Gogolak are executive producers.

This Is Us (Music from the Series) Season 2

1. “Watch Me” Grey Reverend

2. “Landslide” Chrissy Metz

3. “Madman Across The Water” Elton John

4. “Heartbeats” José González

5. “If You Need To, Keep Time On Me” Fleet Foxes

6. “Where I Belong” Hannah Zeile

7. “Ballad Of The Dying Man” Father John Misty

8. “Jesus, Etc.” Bill Fay

9. “The System Only Dreams In Total Darkness” The National

10. “God Bless The Child” Billie Holiday

11. “Where Do The Children Play” Cat Stevens

12. “Fairy Tale Lullaby” John Martyn

13. “Time After Time” Eva Cassidy

14. “These Days” Taylor Goldsmith

15. “I Got You Babe” Goldspot

16. “Lonesome Loser” Little River Band

17. “Beauty and Pain” Hannah Miller


Related Articles

Our Digital Sponsors

Stay Connected


Latest Articles

Get our email updates

Stay up-to-date with the issues, companies and people that matter most to business in the Fort Worth.