72.9 F
Fort Worth
Thursday, October 22, 2020
Culture TCU's Boykin and Dawson lead AP All-Big 12 teams

TCU’s Boykin and Dawson lead AP All-Big 12 teams

Other News

The virus and sport: Women’s PGA Championship to be played Oct. 6-11

The Latest on the effects of the coronavirus outbreak on sports around the world: The...

Exxon’s oil slick

Exxon Mobil is slashing its capital spending budget for 2020 by 30% due to weak demand caused by the COVID-19 pandemic and a market...

Folk music’s Mark Twain: 7 Essential tracks from John Prine,

NEW YORK (AP) — Some people, the songs just come out of them. For nearly half a century, they tumbled out of John Prine...

Tarrant County records another COVID-19 death

Tarrant County Public Health (TCPH) on Wednesday, April 8 reported that a resident of Euless has died as the result of the COVID-19 virus....
Robert Francis
Robert Francis
Robert is a Fort Worth native and longtime editor of the Fort Worth Business Press. He is a former president of the local Society of Professional Journalists and was a freelancer for a variety of newspapers, weeklies and magazines, including American Way, BrandWeek and InformatonWeek. A graduate of TCU, Robert has held a variety of writing and editing positions at publications such as the Grand Prairie Daily News and InfoWorld. He is also a musician and playwright.


FORT WORTH, Texas (AP) – TCU quarterback Trevone Boykin and Horned Frogs linebacker Paul Dawson are The Associated Press players of the year in the Big 12.

Boykin was a unanimous pick Monday as The Associated Press offensive player of the year. Dawson got nine of 20 votes for top defensive player.

Fourth-ranked Baylor, which shared the Big 12 title with TCU, had a league-high five first-team picks on the AP’s All Big 12 team, including Spencer Drango as a unanimous pick on offensive line.

The Horned Frogs, in only their third Big 12 season, became the first team since Texas in 2008 to sweep the top two individual awards.

Oklahoma freshman Samaje Perine, who set the NCAA single-game rushing record last month, is the top offensive newcomer. He was also a unanimous pick for first-team running back.

Baylor linebacker Taylor Young was defensive newcomer of the year.

Here is the All-Big 12 team, as selected by a panel of 20 sports writers who regularly cover the league for newspapers throughout the league’s five states. Players at all positions are listed alphabetically with name, school, height, weight, class and hometown; “u-” denotes unanimous selections.


Center: B.J. Finney, Kansas St., 6-4, 303, Sr., Andale, Kan.

Offensive line: Le’Raven Clark, Texas Tech, 6-6, 313, Jr., Rockdale, Texas; u-Spencer Drango, Baylor, 6-6, 310, Jr., Cedar Park, Texas; Mark Glowinski, West Virginia, 6-5, 312, Sr., Wikes-Barre, Pa.; Daryl Williams, Oklahoma, 6-6, 329, Sr., Lake Dallas, Texas.

Tight end: E.J. Bibbs, Iowa St., 6-3, 264, Sr., Chicago.

Receivers: Corey Coleman, Baylor, 5-11, 190, So., Richardson, Texas; Tyler Lockett, Kansas St., 5-11, 175, Sr., Tulsa, Okla.; Kevin White, West Virginia, 6-3, 210, Sr., Plainfield, N.J.

Running back: u-Samaje Perine, Oklahoma, 5-11, 243, Fr., Pflugerville, Texas.

Quarterback: u-Trevone Boykin, TCU, 6-2, 205, Jr., Dallas.

All-purpose: Tyreek Hill, Oklahoma St., 5-10, 185, Jr., Pearson, Ga.

Kicker: Josh Lambert, West Virginia, 5-11, 215, So., Garland, Texas.


Center: Joey Hunt, TCU, 6-3, 295, Jr., El Campo, Texas.

Offensive line: Tayo Fabuluje, 6-7, 360, Sr., Euless, Texas.; Quinton Spain, West Virginia, 6-4, 332, Sr., Petersburg, Va.; Tyrus Thompson, Oklahoma, 6-5, 336, Sr., Pasadena, Texas; Cody Whitehair, Kansas St., 6-4, 309, Jr., Abilene, Kan.

Tight end: Jimmay Mudine, Kansas, 6-2, 240, Sr., Denison, Texas.

Receivers: John Harris, Texas, 6-3, 223, Sr., Garland, Texas; Curry Sexton, 5-11, 183, Sr., Abilene, Kan.; Sterling Shepard,5-10, 194, Jr., Oklahoma City.

Running back: Shock Linwood, Baylor, 5-9, 200, So., Linden, Texas.

Quarterback: Bryce Petty, Baylor, 6-3, 230, Sr., Midlothian, Texas.

All-purpose: Tyler Lockett, Kansas St., 5-11, 175, Sr., Tulsa, Okla.

Kicker: Jaden Oberkrom, TCU, 6-3, 187, Jr., Arlington, Texas.


Defensive line: Andrew Billings, Baylor, 6-2, 300, So., Waco, Texas; Malcom Brown, Texas, 6-2, 320, Jr., Brenham, Texas; Shawn Oakman, Baylor, 6-0, 280, Jr., Landsdowne, Pa.; Emmanuel Ogbah, Oklahoma St., 6-4, 270, So., Houston.

Linebacker: u-Paul Dawson, TCU, 6-2, 230, Sr., Dallas; Ben Heeney, Kansas, 6-0, 230, Sr., Hutchinson, Kan.; Pete Robertson, Texas Tech, Jr., 6-3, 236, Longview, Texas; Eric Striker, Oklahoma, 6-0, 221, Jr., Seffner, Fla.

Defensive back: Sam Carter, TCU, 6-1, 215, Sr., New Orleans; Chris Hackett, TCU, 6-2, 195, Jr., Tyler, Texas; Zack Sanchez, Oklahoma, 5-11, 179, So., Fort Worth, Texas; Orion Stewart, Baylor, 6-2, 200, So., Waco, Texas.

Punter: Trevor Pardula, Kansas, 6-5, 212, Sr., San Jose, Calif.


Defensive line: Chucky Hunter, TCU, 6-1, 305, Sr., West Monroe, La.; Ryan Mueller, Kansas St., 6-2, 245, Sr., Leawood, Kan.; Jordan Phillips, Oklahoma, 6-6, 334, So., Towanda, Kan.; Cedric Reed, Texas, 6-5, 272, Sr., Cleveland, Texas.

Linebacker: Dominique Alexander, Oklahoma, 6-0, 227, So., Tulsa, Okla.; Bryce Hager, Baylor, 6-2, 235, Sr., Austin, Texas; Jordan Hicks, Texas, 6-1, 234, Sr.; Cincinnati; Jonathan Truman, Kansas St., 5-11, 219, Sr., Kechi, Kan.

Defensive back: Quandre Diggs, Texas, 5-10, 195, Sr., Angelton, Texas; Karl Joseph, West Virginia, 5-11, 196, Jr., Orlando, Fla.; JaCorey Shepherd, Kansas, 5-11, 195, Sr., Mesquite, Texas; Nigel Tribune, Iowa St., 5-11, 185, So., Jacksonville, Fla.

Punter: Spencer Roth, Baylor, 6-5, 220, Sr., Knoxville, Tenn.


Voters: Ryan Aber, The Oklahoman; Tommy Birch, Des Moines Register; Kirk Bohls, Austin American-Statesman; Jimmy Burch, Fort Worth Star-Telegram; Chuck Carlton, Dallas Morning News; Mike Finger, San Antonio Express-News; Tim Griffin, San Antonio Express-News; Bill Haisten, Tulsa World; Kevin Haskin, Topeka Capital-Journal; John E. Hoover, Tulsa World; Tom Keegan, Lawrence Journal-World; Blair Kerkhoff, Kansas City Star; Carlos Mendez, Fort Worth Star-Telegram; Ed Owens, The Dominion Post; Randy Peterson, Des Moines Register; Kellis Robinett, Wichita Eagle; John Shinn, Norman Transcript; Mitch Vingle, Charleston Gazette; John Werner, Waco Tribune-Herald; Don Williams, Lubbock Avalanche-Journal.  

Latest News

What to Know: Be careful what you wish for, it may bite back

DNA has made some big changes in our lives. In many of our lives, we now have some tangible link to our...

Remains found in search for 1921 Tulsa race massacre victims

By KEN MILLLER Associated PressOKLAHOMA CITY (AP) — At least 10 bodies were found Wednesday in an unmarked mass grave at a...

Ex-Blue Bell Creameries CEO charged in deadly listeria case

AUSTIN, Texas (AP) — The former president of Blue Bell Creameries has been charged with wire fraud for allegedly trying to cover...

Pandemic World Series draws smallest crowd in over century

By RONALD BLUM AP Baseball Writer ARLINGTON, Texas (AP) — Julie and Lance Smith walked through the mostly empty...

Photographer sues over Texas mascot’s pre-Sugar Bowl charge

AUSTIN, Texas (AP) — A photographer is suing the owners and handlers of the University of Texas' live mascot for negligence, saying...