Clemson’s Watson wins Davey O’Brien Award as nation’s top QB

ATLANTA (AP) — Deshaun Watson of Clemson has won the Davey O’Brien Award, given to the nation’s best quarterback.

The prize was presented Thursday night.

Watson is the first Clemson quarterback to win the award. He is the second Atlantic Coast Conference player in three years to earn the honor. Florida State’s Jameis Winston took it in 2013.

Watson, a sophomore, threw for more than 3,500 yards with 30 touchdowns and ran for almost 900 yards with 11 touchdowns to lead Clemson (13-0) to a spot in the College Football Playoff.

- FWBP Digital Partners -

The other finalists were Trevone Boykin of TCU and Baker Mayfield of Oklahoma.

Watson also is a finalist for the Maxwell Award and Heisman Trophy, given to the college player of the year.


AP College Football website: