45.2 F
Fort Worth
Wednesday, January 20, 2021

Daily News, ProPublica win Pulitzer for eviction scandal

NEW YORK (AP) — The New York Daily News and ProPublica won the Pulitzer Prize for public service Monday for uncovering how police abused eviction rules to oust hundreds of people, mostly poor minorities, from their homes.

In a year when the tumultuous presidential campaign dominated U.S. news, David A. Fahrenthold of The Washington Post was honored with the Pulitzer for national reporting for exposing questionable practices at Donald Trump’s charitable foundation. The New York Times’ staff received the international reporting award for its work on Russian President Vladimir Putin’s efforts to project Moscow’s power abroad.

Eric Eyre of The Charleston Gazette-Mail won the investigative reporting prize for writing about the scourge of opiate painkillers in poor parts of West Virginia.

The staff of the East Bay Times in Oakland, California, received the breaking news reporting award for its coverage of a fire that killed 36 people at a warehouse party and its follow-up reporting on how local officials hadn’t taken action that might have prevented it.

The International Consortium of Investigative Journalists, McClatchy and the Miami Herald — which amassed a group of over 400 journalists to examine of the leaked “Panama Papers” and expose the way that politicians, criminals and rich people stashed case in offshore accounts — won the Pulitzer for explanatory reporting.

The staff of The Salt Lake Tribune received the local reporting award for its work on how sexual assault victims at Brigham Young University are treated.

Considered the most distinguished awards in American journalism, the Pulitzers are handed out in 14 categories of reporting, photography, criticism and commentary by newspapers, magazines and websites.

Arts prizes are awarded in seven categories, including fiction, drama and music.

This is the 101st year of the contest, established by newspaper publisher Joseph Pulitzer. Public service award winners receive a gold medal; the other awards carry a prize of $10,000 each.

The complete list of winners:


Public Service

New York Daily News and ProPublica for uncovering, primarily through the work of reporter Sarah Ryley, widespread abuse of eviction rules by the police to oust hundreds of people, most of them poor minorities.


Breaking News Reporting

East Bay Times in Oakland, California, for coverage of the “Ghost Ship” fire, which killed 36 people at a warehouse party.


Investigative Reporting

Eric Eyre, of the Charleston Gazette-Mail in West Virginia, for reporting to expose the flood of opioids flowing into depressed West Virginia counties.


Explanatory Reporting

International Consortium of Investigative Journalists, McClatchy and the Miami Herald for the Panama Papers, a series of stories using a collaboration of more than 300 reporters to expose the hidden infrastructure and global scale of offshore tax havens.


Local Reporting

The Salt Lake Tribune staff for reports revealing the mistreatment of sexual assault victims at Brigham Young University.


National Reporting

David A. Fahrenthold of The Washington Post for reporting casting doubt on Donald Trump’s assertions of generosity toward charities.


International Reporting

The New York Times staff for coverage of Vladimir Putin’s efforts to project Russia’s power abroad.


Feature Writing

C.J. Chivers of The New York Times for a story on a Marine’s postwar descent into violence.



Peggy Noonan of The Wall Street Journal for columns during one of the nation’s most divisive political campaigns.



Hilton Als of The New Yorker for reviews that put stage dramas within a real-world cultural context.


Editorial Writing

Art Cullen of The Storm Lake Times for editorials that challenged powerful corporate agricultural interests in Iowa.


Editorial Cartooning

Jim Morin of the Miami Herald for editorial cartoons that delivered sharp perspectives through flawless artistry, biting prose and crisp wit.


Breaking News Photography

Daniel Berehulak, freelance photographer, for images published in The New York Times showing the disregard for human life in the Philippines brought about by a government assault on drug dealers and users.


Feature Photography

E. Jason Wambsgans of the Chicago Tribune for a portrayal of a 10-year-old boy and his mother striving to put the boy’s life back together after he survived a shooting.




“The Underground Railroad,” by Colson Whitehead.



“Sweat,” by Lynn Nottag.



“Blood in the Water: The Attica Prison Uprising of 1971 and Its Legacy,” by Heather Ann Thompson.


Biography or Autobiography

“The Return,” by Hisham Matar.



“Olio,” by Tyehimba Jess.


General Nonfiction

“Evicted: Poverty and Profit in the American City,” by Matthew Desmond.



“Angel’s Bone,” by Du Yun.

Related Articles

Our Digital Sponsors

Stay Connected


Latest Articles

Get our email updates

Stay up-to-date with the issues, companies and people that matter most to business in the Fort Worth.