Sunday, June 20, 2021
93.7 F
Fort Worth

Former TCU standout part of Eagles’ Super Bowl win

🕐 2 min read

Former TCU football standout Halapoulivaati Vaitai is a Super Bowl champion after starting at left tackle for Philadelphia in the Eagles’ 41-33 win over the New England Patriots in Super Bowl LII.

Vaitai is the eighth different Horned Frog on a Super Bowl championship team in the last 12 years. He is one of 20 Horned Frogs to earn a Super Bowl championship ring.

A Haltom, Texas, native, Vaitai started the last 12 games and 13 overall while playing in all 19 contests this season. He has started 17 of the 24 games he’s played in his first two seasons in Philadelphia.

Vaitai was a two-time All-Big 12 selection, starting 30 games in his TCU career (2012-15). He started all 13 games at right tackle as a junior in 2014, before moving to left tackle his senior year. He was instrumental in TCU’s offense ranking among the national leaders in each of his last two seasons.

TCU Players on Super Bowl Championship Teams

Josh Boyce – New England Patriots (Super Bowl XLIX)

Larry Brown – Dallas Cowboys (Super Bowl XXVII, XXVIII, XXX)

Norm Bulaich – Baltimore Colts (Super Bowl V)

Marcus Cannon – New England Patriots (Super Bowl XLIX, LI)

Tommy Joe Crutcher – Green Bay Packers (Super Bowl I, II)

Charles Davis – Pittsburgh Steelers (Super Bowl IX)

Norm Evans – Miami Dolphins (Super Bowl VI, VII, VIII)

Clint Gresham – Seattle Seahawks (Super Bowl XLVIII)

Gaylon Hyder – St. Louis Rams (Super Bowl XXXIV)

Cedric James – New England Patriots (Super Bowl XXXIX)

Bob Lilly – Dallas Cowboys (Super Bowl V, VI)

James Maness – Chicago Bears (Super Bowl XX)

Mickey McCarty – Kansas City Chiefs (Super Bowl IV)

Marshall Newhouse – Green Bay Packers (Super Bowl XLV)

Jared Retkofsky – Pittsburgh Steelers (Super Bowl XLIII)

Bo Schobel – Indianapolis Colts (Super Bowl XLI)

Michael Toudouze – Indianapolis Colts (Super Bowl XLI)

Greg Townsend – Los Angeles Raiders (Super Bowl XVIII)

Ryan Tucker – St. Louis Rams (Super Bowl XXXIV)

Halapoulivaati Vaitai – Philadelphia Eagles (Super Bowl LII)

Related Articles

Our Digital Sponsors

Latest Articles