TCU’s Boykin one of three Davey O’Brien finalists

Former TCU quarterback Trevone Boykin on the cover of Sports Illustrated, 2015.

TCU senior Trevone Boykin, Oklahoma junior Baker Mayfield and Clemson sophomore Deshaun Watson are the three finalists for the 2015 Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award, the Davey O’Brien Foundation announced today.

After totaling the ballots from the Davey O’Brien National Selection Committee members as well as fan votes recorded over the past three weeks at, the 16 semifinalists were narrowed down to the trio of signal callers. Boykin is a finalist for the second straight year, while Mayfield and Watson are among the final three for the first time.

Boykin directs a TCU squad that ranks second in the NCAA in total offense (588.2) and sixth in points per game (42.9). With Boykin under center, the Horned Frogs (9-2) scored 50 points in five straight games earlier this season. He has passed for 3,427 yards and 29 touchdowns with nine interceptions, while adding 596 rushing yards and eight scores.

Individually, he ranks first nationally in total offense (402.3 yards per game), second in points responsible for per game (22.8) and third in total QBR (86.3). In addition, Boykin is among the nation’s top 10 in passing efficiency (6th, 166.5), passing yards per game (6th, 342.7) and touchdown passes (8th, 29).

- FWBP Digital Partners -

The native of Dallas, was one of two players to be selected Davey O’Brien Quarterback of the Week twice this season (Week 4, Week 9). In all, he was a Davey O’Brien “Great 8” performer seven times, and also was twice voted Big 12 Offensive Player of the Week.

Mayfield tops the nation in passing efficiency (180.7) and yards per attempt (9.8) for an Oklahoma offense that ranks third in scoring offense (44.6). He has guided the Sooners to a 10-1 overall record and a No. 5 ranking in the Associated Press and Amway Coaches Polls. He has thrown for 3,209 yards and 33 touchdowns with five interceptions, and rushed for 343 yards and six touchdowns.

Mayfield is listed among the nation’s top five in both points responsible for (T-3rd, 234) and touchdown passes (4th, 33). In addition, the two-time Big 12 Offensive Player of the Week is seventh in completion percentage (.687).

The native of Austin, was voted Davey O’Brien Quarterback of the Week in week three and week 11, and was a “Great 8” choice on four occasions. He is looking to become the Sooners’ third Davey O’Brien Award winner, joining Sam Bradford (2008) and Jason White (2003, 2004).

- Advertisement -

Watson has led the Tigers to an 11-0 start and the No. 1 position in both major polls. Clemson, one of just two undefeated FBS teams, averages 38.0 points and more than 500 yards of offense per game. He has passed for 2,944 yards and 26 touchdowns with 10 interceptions, while adding 642 rushing yards and six scores.

Nationally, the native of Gainesville, Ga., ranks third in completion percentage (.701), fourth in total QBR (85.8), eighth in passing efficiency (161.1) and tied for 10th in points responsible for (192). In addition, he is 11th in both total offense (326.0) and touchdown passes (26).

The other semifinalists were: Connor Cook (Michigan State), Brandon Doughty (Western Kentucky), Luke Falk (Washington State), Jared Goff (California), Kevin Hogan (Stanford), Matt Johnson (Bowling Green), Cody Kessler (USC), Paxton Lynch (Memphis), Patrick Mahomes (Texas Tech), Dak Prescott (Mississippi State), Keenan Reynolds (Navy), Josh Rosen (UCLA), Seth Russell (Baylor) and Greg Ward Jr. (Houston).

After clearing the second round totals, the Fan Vote at reopens this evening for the third round of balloting. It will remain open until noon on Sunday, Dec. 6.

- Advertisement -

The Fan Vote counts as five percent during each round of the voting process, and is combined with the results from the Davey O’Brien National Selection Committee, which is comprised of journalists, broadcasters, commentators and former winners.

The 2015 Davey O’Brien winner will be announced live on The Home Depot College Football Awards on Thursday, Dec. 10. All three finalists will attend the festivities that day in Atlanta, Ga. The 39th Annual Davey O’Brien Awards Dinner will be held Monday, Feb. 15, 2016, in Fort Worth.

The list of winners includes: Jim McMahon (BYU, 1981), Todd Blackledge (Penn State, 1982), Steve Young (BYU, 1983), Doug Flutie (Boston College, 1984), Chuck Long (Iowa, 1985), Vinny Testaverde (Miami, 1986), Don McPherson (Syracuse, 1987), Troy Aikman (UCLA, 1988), Andre Ware (Houston, 1989), Ty Detmer (BYU, 1990-91), Gino Torretta (Miami, 1992), Charlie Ward (Florida State, 1993), Kerry Collins (Penn State, 1994), Danny Wuerffel (Florida, 1995-96), Peyton Manning (Tennessee, 1997), Michael Bishop (Kansas State, 1998), Joe Hamilton (Georgia Tech, 1999), Chris Weinke (Florida State, 2000), Eric Crouch (Nebraska, 2001), Brad Banks (Iowa, 2002), Jason White (Oklahoma, 2003-04), Vince Young (Texas, 2005), Troy Smith (Ohio State, 2006), Tim Tebow (Florida, 2007), Sam Bradford (Oklahoma, 2008), Colt McCoy (Texas, 2009), Cam Newton (Auburn, 2010), Robert Griffin III (Baylor, 2011), Johnny Manziel (Texas A&M, 2012), Jameis Winston (Florida State, 2013) and Marcus Mariota (Oregon, 2014).