Sunday, May 9, 2021
73.8 F
Fort Worth

TCU’s Patterson up for Dodd coaching award

TCU’s Gary Patterson has been named to the watch list for the 2018 Dodd Trophy, recognizing the nation’s top football coach.

Patterson, who has won 22 national coach of the year honors including the 2009 Dodd Trophy, is the nation’s second-longest tenured head coach.

Patterson is TCU’s all-time winningest football coach with 160 victories. His .737 winning percentage (160-57) is fourth among active coaches nationally (minimum 10 years experience).

TCU is one of just five programs in the nation to finish in the top 10 of the final polls at least three times in the last four seasons. The Horned Frogs’ 40-13 overall record and 26-10 conference mark both rank second in the Big 12 over that period.

Patterson has led TCU to conference championships in three different leagues (Conference USA, Mountain West, Big 12). He also won coach of the year honors in all three conferences. He has produced at least 11 wins in 10 of the last 15 seasons and helped lead the Horned Frogs to eight conference titles and 18 bowl games in 20 years.

In eight of the last 10 seasons, TCU has been recognized by the American Football Coaches Association (AFCA) as one of the nation’s leaders in its graduation rate for student-athletes.

During his head coaching tenure, Patterson has had 45 players drafted with 114 in NFL camps.

Get our email updates

Related Articles

Our Digital Sponsors

Stay Connected


Join Our Newsletter

Latest Articles