61.6 F
Fort Worth
Tuesday, October 20, 2020
Government Fort Worth businessman to lead Abbott, Patrick inauguration efforts

Fort Worth businessman to lead Abbott, Patrick inauguration efforts

Other News

Alamo Drafthouse names new CEO as it prepares to re-open

Lights! Action! Executive Change! Austin-based Alamo Drafthouse Cinema announced April 30 that former Starbucks executive Shelli Taylor will assume...

Exxon’s oil slick

Exxon Mobil is slashing its capital spending budget for 2020 by 30% due to weak demand caused by the COVID-19 pandemic and a market...

Folk music’s Mark Twain: 7 Essential tracks from John Prine,

NEW YORK (AP) — Some people, the songs just come out of them. For nearly half a century, they tumbled out of John Prine...

Tarrant County records another COVID-19 death

Tarrant County Public Health (TCPH) on Wednesday, April 8 reported that a resident of Euless has died as the result of the COVID-19 virus....
Robert Francis
Robert Francis
Robert is a Fort Worth native and longtime editor of the Fort Worth Business Press. He is a former president of the local Society of Professional Journalists and was a freelancer for a variety of newspapers, weeklies and magazines, including American Way, BrandWeek and InformatonWeek. A graduate of TCU, Robert has held a variety of writing and editing positions at publications such as the Grand Prairie Daily News and InfoWorld. He is also a musician and playwright.

Reeve Hamilton, The Texas Tribune December 12, 2014

Fort Worth businessman Ardon Moore will chair the committee running inauguration festivities for Gov.-elect Greg Abbott and Lt. Gov.-elect Dan Patrick in January, it was announced on Friday.  

Moore, president of Lee M. Bass Inc. in Fort Worth, is a vice chairman of the University of Texas Investment Management Company, president of the Fort Worth Zoological Association, and a member of the advisory council for the McCombs School of Business at the University of Texas at Austin. 

“I am proud to serve as Chairman of a committee with such a great history and tradition in Texas,” Moore said in a statement.  

Alejandra de la Vega Foster, one of the inaugural committee’s co-chairs, is president of Almacenes Distribuidores de la Frontera, which owns and operates hundreds of convenience stores in Mexico. She is a current co-owner of the El Paso Chihuahuas and a former owner and manager of the Juarez Cobras, a major league soccer team. Her husband, Paul Foster, is the chairman of the University of Texas System Board of Regents.  

Dallas philanthropist Toni Brinker Pickens is the other co-chair. She is the founder of Economic Partners Investing in Communities, a collaboration between nonprofits and multiple city offices in Dallas. She is a founding member of the AT&T Performing Arts Center and serves on a number of major foundation boards. She married T. Boone Pickens, chairman and CEO of BP Capital LLC, earlier this year. 

The co-chairs of the finance committee for the inaugural effort are John L. Nau III, president and chief executive officer of Silver Eagle Distributors, one of the largest distributors of Anheuser-Busch products, and Trevor Rees-Jones, president and CEO of Chief Oil & Gas LLC.  

“Whether in business or in their communities, each of these Texans has served our state in an enormous capacity, personifying the Texas work ethic and proving all that can be accomplished through dedication and hard work,” Abbott said in a statement.  

“Texas inaugurations are steeped in time-honored tradition and reflect the story of our great state. These men and women are the best possible team to honor this tradition and I look forward to working with them as we plan the 2015 Texas Inauguration,” he said. 

Disclosure: The McCombs School of Business is a corporate sponsor of The Texas Tribune. Lee Bass sits on the board of directors for the Sid W. Richardson Foundation, a major donor to the Tribune. Paul Foster is a major donor. T. Boone Pickens and John Nau have been major donors. A complete list of Tribune donors and sponsors can be viewed here.      

Latest News

Fort Worth council member Moon arrested for DWI in Burleson

Fort Worth City Council Member for District 4  Cary Moon was arrested by Burleson Police on Saturday, Oct. 17 at 2:44 a.m....

Fort Worth City Council, Oct. 20 Work Session and meeting preview

City Council Work Session, 3 p.m., Room 2020 of City Hall, 200 Texas St. Informal reports will discuss an...

Gov. Greg Abbott spends millions to help down-ballot Republicans in Texas

Patrick Svitek The Texas Tribune Gov. Greg Abbott’s campaign is ratcheting up its down-ballot efforts in the final weeks before...

Impatient Democrats want Biden to do more in Texas

By PAUL J. WEBER Associated PressAUSTIN, Texas (AP) — The whispers about Texas are picking up again.Polls are unusually tight. Political money...

Black officers break from unions over Trump endorsements

By CLAUDIA LAUER Associated PressPHILADELPHIA (AP) — Police unions nationwide have largely supported President Donald Trump's reelection, amid mass demonstrations over police...