Saturday, October 23, 2021
82.8 F
Fort Worth

Independent wins Texas House seat for 1st time in decades

🕐 1 min read

AUSTIN, Texas (AP) — An independent has won a special election for a San Antonio-based Texas House seat and will be the first non-Republican or -Democrat in the Legislature in decades.

But Laura Thompson’s term only lasts through December. She won’t be serving while the Legislature is in session beginning Jan. 10, unless a special session is convened, which is unlikely.

A writer and poet, Thompson won Tuesday’s special election against Democrat Lou Miller by 50 votes out of around 1,200 total. She replaces retiring Democratic Rep. Ruth Jones McClendon.

Thompson isn’t running in November’s election to fill McLendon’s seat for a 2-year term beginning next year.

Thompson is believed to be the first non-party-affiliated Texas state lawmaker since Fort Worth Rep. Howard Green, who switched from Democrat to independent between 1959 and 1961.

Related Articles

Our Digital Sponsors

Latest Articles

Texas Rangers
Fort Worth Business Press Logo
This advertisement will close in
Click here to continue to Fort Worth Business Press

Not ready to subscribe?

Try a few articles on us.

Enter your email address and we will give you access to three articles a month, to give us a try. You also get an opportunity to receive our newsletter with stories of the day.

This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Get our email updates

Stay up-to-date with the issues, companies and people that matter most to business in the Fort Worth.

  • Restaurants
  • Technology
  • and more!

FWBP Morning Brief

FWBP 5@5

Weekend Newsletter

  • Banking & Finance
  • Culture
  • Real Estate