Johnson elected Dallas mayor; San Antonio backs incumbent

DALLAS (AP) — Mayoral races in two of Texas’ largest cities have been decided, with Dallas voters electing a state lawmaker and San Antonio residents backing an incumbent.

In Dallas, Rep. Eric Johnson handily defeated city council member Scott Griggs Saturday in a runoff to succeed term-limited Mayor Mike Rawlings. Voters in San Antonio gave Mayor Ron Nirenberg a second term in a close race against Greg Brockhouse, a city council member. Both races were nonpartisan.

Johnson, 43, grew up in Dallas and won a commanding victory with support from much of the North Texas city’s business and pollical establishment, including Rawlings.

Nirenberg eked out a victory in a bruising runoff that the 42-year-old mayor says will help him better represent everyone in the United States’ seventh most populous city.