Wednesday, August 4, 2021
75.5 F
Fort Worth

Texas seeks federal disaster declaration for 12 counties

🕐 1 min read

AUSTIN, Texas (AP) — Gov. Greg Abbott has requested a federal disaster declaration for a dozen Texas counties inundated by flooding and other damage from recent storms.

Abbott on Thursday sought individual and public assistance for Austin, Brazoria, Brazos, Fort Bend, Grimes, Hidalgo, Hood, Montgomery, San Jacinto, Travis, Waller and Washington counties.

A federal declaration could clear the way for individual assistance grants of up to $33,000 and low-interest disaster loans.

Abbott says storms that began in late May devastated the property and lives of thousands of Texans. Mandatory evacuations continued Thursday along parts of the flooded Brazos River in Brazoria County.

The governor on Wednesday added 15 counties to his June 1 disaster declaration linked to severe weather, bringing to 46 the number of Texas counties covered by the proclamation.

Related Articles

Our Digital Sponsors

Latest Articles

Not ready to subscribe?

Try a few articles on us.

Enter your email address and we will give you access to three articles a month, to give us a try. You also get an opportunity to receive our newsletter with stories of the day.

Get our email updates

Stay up-to-date with the issues, companies and people that matter most to business in the Fort Worth.

  • Restaurants
  • Technology
  • and more!

FWBP Morning Brief

FWBP 5@5

Weekend Newsletter

  • Banking & Finance
  • Culture
  • Real Estate