Saturday, September 18, 2021
89.2 F
Fort Worth

Baylor All Saints gets Advanced Level III Trauma Facility status

🕐 2 min read

Baylor All Saints Medical Center at Fort Worth announced Sept. 13 it has been designated as an Advanced Level III Trauma Facility in Trauma Service Area-E by the Texas Department of State Health Services. “Our designation confirms our ongoing commitment to providing quality emergency care to Fort Worth and surrounding communities,” said David Klein, president, Baylor All Saints Medical Center at Fort Worth. The 25-room trauma center treats around 40,000 patients annually. Timothy Jones, M.D. is the medical director.

According to Baylor officials, an ideal trauma system uses tiered levels of trauma centers to provide the most cost-effective care. The designation level (I, II, III, or IV) ranks trauma centers based on resource depth. Texas has 284 trauma centers, including 16 Level I Comprehensive Trauma facilities; 17 Level II Major Trauma Facilities; 52 Level III Advanced Trauma Centers: and 199 Level IV Basic Trauma Facilities. “I want to commend our entire multi-disciplinary team on achieving this certification. This represents many hours of additional work to prepare for the state regulator’s onsite visit,” said Janice Walker, chief operating officer, Baylor Fort Worth. “Adding a Level III trauma center gives Fort Worth more depth to the existing Level I and Level II trauma centers. Fort Worth’s trauma centers provide a medical safety net to its citizens.”

At a trauma-designated facility, emergency medicine physicians and nurses are required to have trauma-specific continuing education and maintain specialized certification in trauma and resuscitation. This training is vital in the assessment and stabilization of trauma patients.

In recent months, Baylor Fort Worth has earned other notable designations:

Cycle 4 Chest Pain Accreditation (first in Fort Worth) Advanced Primary Stroke Designation (The Joint Commission) Advanced Palliative Care Designation (The Joint Commission) U.S. News and World Report (Recognized in Three Specialties) Heart Failure Accreditation Baylor All Saints Medical Center at Fort Worth, part of Baylor Scott & White Health, is a 574-bed, fully-accredited not-for-profit hospital.  

Robert Francis
Robert is a Fort Worth native and longtime editor of the Fort Worth Business Press. He is a former president of the local Society of Professional Journalists and was a freelancer for a variety of newspapers, weeklies and magazines, including American Way, BrandWeek and InformatonWeek. A graduate of TCU, Robert has held a variety of writing and editing positions at publications such as the Grand Prairie Daily News and InfoWorld. He is also a musician and playwright.

Related Articles

Our Digital Sponsors

Latest Articles

Not ready to subscribe?

Try a few articles on us.

Enter your email address and we will give you access to three articles a month, to give us a try. You also get an opportunity to receive our newsletter with stories of the day.

Get our email updates

Stay up-to-date with the issues, companies and people that matter most to business in the Fort Worth.

  • Restaurants
  • Technology
  • and more!

FWBP Morning Brief

FWBP 5@5

Weekend Newsletter

  • Banking & Finance
  • Culture
  • Real Estate