89.7 F
Fort Worth
Wednesday, August 5, 2020

Classes begin for TCU and UNTHSC School of Medicine

Other News

Exxon’s oil slick

Exxon Mobil is slashing its capital spending budget for 2020 by 30% due to weak demand caused by the COVID-19 pandemic and a market...

Folk music’s Mark Twain: 7 Essential tracks from John Prine,

NEW YORK (AP) — Some people, the songs just come out of them. For nearly half a century, they tumbled out of John Prine...

Tarrant County records another COVID-19 death

Tarrant County Public Health (TCPH) on Wednesday, April 8 reported that a resident of Euless has died as the result of the COVID-19 virus....

Tradition stymied: A year unlike any since WWII for Augusta

The Masters is so intertwined with Augusta, they added an extra day to spring break.You see, the first full week of April isn't just...

Classes officially begin at TCU and UNTHSC School of Medicine

Classes officially began July 15 for the TCU and UNTHSC School of Medicine. While the school is new, so is the curriculum. No lectures, a unique focus on communication and a high-tech platform are some of the features that make this School of Medicine stand out.

Texas Christian University and University of North Texas Health Science Center joined together in July 2015 to form this new allopathic (M.D.) medical school. Classes are held on both the TCU and UNTHSC campuses – and students will rotate through hospitals and clinics in the Fort Worth-Dallas region. Last November, UNTHSC opened its new Interdisciplinary Research and Education Building, a $121 million facility with two floors devoted to the School of Medicine.

To make all this possible, the school received a great deal of support. The North Texas community provided philanthropic support for academic programs, faculty recruitment and student scholarships before the school even opened its doors.

Leading this effort are the school’s current Founding Donors, who invested a minimum of $1 million to see the M.D. school fulfill its potential.

The current Founding Donors include:

• Alcon

• Amon G. Carter Foundation

• Baylor Scott & White

• Texas Health Resources

• Mr. H. Paul Dorman

• Dr. John and Mrs. Priscilla Geesbreght

• Legett Foundation

• Sid W. Richardson Foundation

• Rebecca and Jon Brumley

• The Morris Foundation

• Martha Sue Parr Trust

• Tartaglino Richards Family Foundation

• Thomas M., Helen McKee and John P. Ryan Foundation

“Having the support of this community is a game-changer for our school of medicine,” said Dean Stuart D. Flynn. “We share a mission with our supporters to transform health care by inspiring Empathetic Scholars. I am incredibly grateful to our Founding Donors for believing in us and sharing our goals. Their gifts allow us to create a school of medicine producing the kind of physicians we would all want to take care of us and our families.”

Recently, Alcon became the latest Founding Donor. Alcon, the global leader in eye care, was founded in Fort Worth in 1945. The Alcon Endowment for Ophthalmology Excellence will provide the School of Medicine with annual funds to advantage opportunities in ophthalmology and to address needs in eye care.

“We are proud to be the founding donor of the Ophthalmology program for the TCU and UNTHSC School of Medicine and are pleased to welcome the inaugural class,” said Sergio Duplan, Region President of Alcon North America. “This donation demonstrates our ongoing commitment to eye care through the development of the next generation of medical doctors, and is an extension of Alcon’s decades-long partnerships with TCU and UNTHSC. We look forward to yet another fruitful collaboration with these Fort Worth institutions as we work together to support our community and ongoing eye health.”

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Latest News

Tarrant County reports 8 COVID deaths on Wednesday

Tarrant County Public Health on Wednesday reported eight COVID-19 deaths. The deceased include a woman in her 70s, a man in his...

Texas medical board warns physicians who claim COVID-19 cure

HOUSTON (AP) — The Texas board that licenses doctors has warned physicians that it could take action against anyone who falsely advertises...

Tarrant County reports 5 COVID deaths on Tuesday

Tarrant County Public Health on Tuesday, Aug. 4 reported five COVID-19 deaths. The deceased include a woman in her 60s and a...

Fort Worth skilled nursing and rehabilitative care company adds two locations

Fort Worth-based SLP Operations LLC, nursing and rehabilitation centers, has added Pinehurst Nursing and Rehabilitation Center in Orange...

Tarrant County COVID-19 Child Care Task Force launches survey

Tarrant County COVID School-Age Child Care Task Force is seeking information from parents to help support solutions to...