Jyric Sims and Jim L. Turner named DFWHC award recipients

Jyric Sims

The Dallas-Fort Worth Hospital Council (DFWHC) has named Jyric Sims, chief executive officer at Medical City Fort Worth, as the 2018 Young Healthcare Executive of the Year.

Jim L. Turner, former chair of the Baylor Scott & White Health Board of Trustees, has been names the 2018 Kerney Laday Sr. Trustee of the Year.

The awards will be presented during DFWHC’s 70th Annual Awards Luncheon Oct. 17.

The Young Healthcare Executive of the Year honor acknowledges youthful professionals who display the impressive abilities of future North Texas leaders, the organization said in a news release.

- FWBP Digital Partners -

The Trustee of the Year honor was named in memory of Kerney Laday Sr., who served on the Texas Health Resources Board for a decade. He was chair when he passed away in 2012. The award was created in 2013 to honor trustees who have displayed uncommon excellence over the course of their careers.

“Every year, this is a difficult decision preceded by intense discussion between members of the DFWHC Board of Trustees,” said W. Stephen Love, president/CEO of DFWHC. “When noting the career highlights of Jyric Sims and Jim L. Turner, it was evident they were inspired and motivated to make a difference in North Texas healthcare. As with all the nominees, they displayed uncommon leadership and inventive recommendations.”

Since June 2017, Sims has served as chief executive officer of the Medical City Healthcare hospital Medical City Fort Worth, a 320-bed medical center that includes an ambulatory surgery center, an off-campus emergency room, more than 1,200 employees and a graduate medical education program.

Turner was chair of the board of trustees of Baylor Scott & White Health from 2015-2018 and continues to serve on the board today. As the former chair of Baylor Health Care System, he was instrumental in the system’s significant 2013 merger with Scott and White of Temple, Texas. He is the principal stockholder and chair of JLT Beverages LP.

- Advertisement -

In addition to Sims, Young Healthcare nominees included Kyle Armstrong, president/CEO at Baylor Scott & White Medical Center McKinney; Brandie Meyer, vice president of strategic integration at Texas Health Resources; and Nkem Okafor, system vice president of strategy and service lines at Methodist Health System, the news release said.

– FWBP staff