New dean appointed for UNT System College of Pharmacy

Dr. Charles Taylor as Dean of the UNTS College of Pharmacy.

Dr. Charles Taylor has been appointed dean of the UNT System College of Pharmacy, located at UNT Health Science Center. He will join the university in June, having previously served as dean and vice president of academic affairs at Northeast Ohio Medical University (NEOMED).

Taylor brings to UNTHSC a foundation in pharmaceutical education and a strong commitment to community, innovation, quality and excellence, according to a university news release. Throughout his career, he has encouraged collaboration, interprofessional health care education and research.

He said he is enthusiastic about creating an environment where student pharmacists are proactively integrated into health care teams to collaboratively advance and deliver the best patient care.

“Let’s create, along with other health care professionals, a model of being part of the team delivering exceptional care,” he said. “Let’s position pharmacists in a way that they can make impactful decisions.”

- FWBP Digital Partners -

Taylor previously served as associate dean for clinical affairs at St. Louis College of Pharmacy and as senior associate dean at the University Of Minnesota College Of Pharmacy.

At NEOMED, Taylor strengthened the College of Pharmacy’s research enterprise with the launch of a neurodegenerative diseases and aging research center. The center was funded initially with philanthropic support and has resulted in significant increases in NIH funding over the past few years.

“Dr. Taylor is a strong supporter of interprofessional education and practice, collaboration and innovation,” said Claire Peel, PhD, Interim Provost at UNTHSC. “With his leadership, the College of Pharmacy will continue to grow and excel in education, research and practice.”

The pharmacy college was founded in 2013 and set to graduate its first class of pharmacists in May.