Texas Health merges foundations

Jay McAuley



Texas Health Resources announced today that it is merging its Texas Health Presbyterian Foundation and Texas Health Harris Methodist Foundation into a single organization. Texas Health Resources Foundation will be led by Jay McAuley, who was appointed president of the new organization, and an 18-member board of volunteer community leaders selected from the members of the boards of the merged foundations. McAuley was formerly president of Texas Health Presbyterian Foundation. Doug White, previously head of Texas Health Harris Methodist Foundation, has left to pursue other interests. “Texas Health has been abundantly blessed by the leadership, wisdom and creativity of the dedicated people who have served our two Foundations for many years,” said Doug Hawthorne, CEO of Texas Health Resources in a news release. “We are deeply grateful for the philanthropic support of the communities we serve. We pledge that Texas Health Resources Foundation will continue to advance caring for the people of our communities in body, mind and spirit.” According to a news release from the Arlington-based nonprofit health systems, the merger of the two foundations is part of Texas Health’s 10-year strategy to transform from a hospital-centric organization to an integrated, regional health system. In planning this transition, Texas Health leaders studied best practices of other nationally recognized health systems and not-for-profit organizations. Together, the merged foundations hold assets of more than $210 million. No staff reductions are anticipated as a result of the merger.  

- FWBP Digital Partners -


The members of Texas Health Foundation Board of Trustees are: Phillip Moroneso, Chair Brock Compton, Vice Chair Carrol M. Bennett Jr. Barry Epstein S. Finley Ewing III Martha Fikes Pat Hawkins Bill Lamkin Richard E. LeBlanc Thomas A. Leiser Chesleigh Lloyd Phillip Norwood Mary Poss Matthew Reynolds Brenda Ritz Michael J. Romo Lynny Sankary William C. Slicker