David Bloxom and Jim Whitaker


David Bloxom, chairman of Fort Worth-based Speed Fab-Crete, is one of four design-build professionals chosen for induction into the Design-Build Institute of America’s 2019 College of Fellows, which honors the nation’s most accomplished Designated Design‐Build Professionals.

Fellow status is limited to just 2% of design-build professionals, and honorees are hand-selected based on input from industry peers and leaders, as well as a review of the documented contributions made to the design‐build industry. Bloxom was inducted during the 2019 Design-Build Conference & Expo, held Nov. 6-8 in Las Vegas.

With nearly 50 years of experience in integrated project delivery, Bloxom has been a champion and advocate for design-build his entire career.

- FWBP Digital Partners -

He has led Speed Fab-Crete to deliver hundreds of design-build projects throughout Texas and the Southwest, played a vital role in growing the DBIA certification process as a DBIA Certified Instructor, served as a past president and current board member of the DBIA Southwest Region, and served as a past chairman and current member of the Design-Build Certification Board.

“Design-build is the fastest-growing and most popular delivery method in our nation’s architecture, engineering and construction industry. Much of that success is driven by the incredible leadership of design-build innovators like those elevated to this year’s DBIA College of Fellows,” said Jim Whitaker, FAIA, FDBIA, chancellor of DBIA’s College of Fellows.

“The addition of these four new DBIA Fellows in 2019 is just one indicator of the depth of experience and passion for collaboration, which drives design-build’s success nationwide,” Whitaker said.

Additional 2019 DBIA College of Fellows inductees include Keith Molenaar, Ph.D., FDBIA, professor and associate dean for research at the University of Colorado Boulder; Stephen Richard Benton, P.E., FASCE, FDBIA, president of SR Benton & Associates in Fairfax, Virginia; and Thomas Porter, JD, FDBIA, vice president of Barton Malow Company in Southfield, Michigan.