57.9 F
Fort Worth
Friday, November 27, 2020
Technology 2020 Dennis K. Stone Award Winner

2020 Dennis K. Stone Award Winner

Other News

JRB Fort Worth chosen for main operating base for C-130J aircraft

Naval Air Station Joint Reserve Base Fort Worth has been selected as a main operating base for eight C-130J aircraft at the 136th Airlift...

Commentary: When to donate rewards to charity and when to give cash

By ERIN HURD of NerdWalletIf you're looking to give to charity this holiday season but don't want to dip into your bank account, donating...

Texas again sets record for new coronavirus infections as testing also sees sustained highs

Texas health officials reported more than 14,000 new coronavirus infections Wednesday in what appeared to be an all-time high for daily cases. The record comes...

Commentary: Area mayors say ‘Spread cheer this holiday season, not COVID-19’

Mayors of several cities in Tarrant County released the following message: As we enter the holiday season, it’s becoming all too apparent that this year...

Dr. Hubert Zajicek is the 2020 Dennis K. Stone Award, presented annually by Bio North Texas to an individual who has positively affected quality of life by raising awareness and funds for life science research, who has impacted innovation to bring discoveries to commercial relevance, and who has given back to their community and those in the scientific field as a supporter, mentor, leader or educator.

Zajicek is co-founder, partner and CEO of Health Wildcatters, a top-ranked seed stage health care fund and accelerator in Dallas that has invested in over 70 healthcare startups, which have attracted more than $100 million in capital.

Most recently he founded the 501(c)3 non-profit “Health Hacking Crisis Network” that has helped with critical needs during the COVID crisis.
“Dr. Zajicek’s focus on providing mentorship, capital, and guidance to early stage health care companies has directly contributed to North Texas being recognized internationally for its growing life sciences industry,” said Jorge Varela CEO of Bio North Texas. “His efforts have resulted in companies and talent relocating to this area and in significant startup funding.”
Past recipients of the Dennis K. Stone Award are:

2015 – Phil Ralston, CEO and Co-Founder of MacuCLEAR. 
2016 – Dennis K. Stone, Chief Scientific Officer of Remeditex Ventures.
2017 – Lyda Hill, Philanthropist and Entrepreneur.
2018 – Darlene Boudreaux, Entrepreneur, CEO of TECH Fort Worth, founder Cowtown Angels.
2019 – Paul Dorman, Entrepreneur and Philanthropist.


Oh hi there 👋
It’s nice to meet you.

Sign up to receive awesome content in your inbox.

We don’t spam! Read our privacy policy for more info.

Latest News

Left for dead, twice, RadioShack gets another shot online

SILVER SPRING, Md. (AP) — RadioShack, a fixture at the mall for decades, has been pulled from brink of death, again. It’s the most prized...

E-commerce firm that acquired Pier 1, takes RadioShack assets

Look who is joining former Fort Worth home furnishing retailer Pier 1 Imports at e-commerce-focused business, Retail Ecommerce Ventures (REV): Fellow storied Fort Worth...

Huge Puerto Rico radio telescope to close in blow to science

SAN JUAN, Puerto Rico (AP) — The National Science Foundation announced Thursday that it will close the huge telescope at the renowned Arecibo Observatory...

GM: New batteries cut electric car costs, increase range

DETROIT (AP) — General Motors says a pending breakthrough in battery chemistry will cut the price of its electric vehicles so they equal those...

Financially troubled Austin startup helped power Trump campaign

By GARANCE BURKE Associated PressSAN FRANCISCO (AP) — President Donald Trump's 2020 reelection campaign was powered by a cellphone app that allowed staff to...