Council Report: Two new members appointed to Transportation Authority

Sylvia Alcala

On Tuesday, October 29, The City of Fort Worth Mayor and City Council appointed eight members to the board of the Fort Worth Transportation Authority, Trinity Metro.

Mayor and City Council approved the resolution unanimously, appointing two new members to the 11-member board, eight of which seats are appointed by the City of Fort Worth. The two new appointees are Sylvia Alcala and Stephen Baldwin, appointed by Councilman Brian Byrd (District 3) and Councilman Jungus Jordan (District 6) respectively.

Sylvia Alcala is President and Founder of J Anthony Group, a consulting and professional services firm in the Aerospace and Defense industry. A native Texan and proud small business owner, Alcala is active throughout the Fort Worth community establishing the Heroes Race; an annual 5K race that raises money for charitable organizations that “do the work of heroes,” as well as serving on the Board of Directors of the Fort Worth Hispanic Chamber of Commerce.

“I am delighted to appoint Sylvia Alcala to replace Scott Mahaffey on the Trinity Metro Board. During his tenure, Scott brought much to the board. However, it is time we now begin looking to the next generation to steward our city with someone who has been successful in the business world and carries a vision of how to make it better,” said Councilman Brian Byrd, District 3. “Besides being just a terrific and affable person, Sylvia brings a tremendous amount of leadership skills to the board, as well as a diversity of opinion. She has a keen interest in promoting transit and will add significant value to our city and region.”

- FWBP Digital Partners -

Also joining the Trinity Metro Board, appointed by Councilman Jordan, is Stephen Baldwin. Fort Worth native and recent retiree from Oncor Electric Delivery after an impressive 43-year career, Baldwin’s community involvement is extensive from graduating from United Way’s Blueprint for Board Services Class and Leadership Fort Worth to currently serving as Director of the Stop Six Mobile Food Pantry.

“Stephen is an impressive community leader, with a wide-ranging background in volunteerism and community involvement,” said Councilman Jungus Jordan, District 6. “Stephen’s extensive knowledge and understanding of Fort Worth and its residents will lend itself well in moving mobility forward and increasing connectivity and accessibility not only District 6, but for our entire city and greater region. community and entire region.”

In a continued effort to ensure appointees represent all geographic sectors of the City, City Council members for Districts 2 through 9 each nominate an individual for appointment to the Fort Worth Transportation Authority Board. The following is a complete list of individuals appointed to the Fort Worth Transportation Authority (Trinity Metro) Board: Teresa Ayala (District 2), Sylvia Alcala (District 3), Louis “Charles” Edmonds, Jr. (District 4), Walter Dansby (District 5), Stephen Baldwin (District 6), Nicolo “Nick” Genua (District 7), Ray Taylor (District 8) and Jeff Davis (District 9).

The Fort Worth City Council will formally recognize former appointees, Scott Mahaffey and Jeff King, for their dedicated service during the November 5 Council Meeting.