A. Lee Graham
Texas motorists should be aware of a new requirement as summer gives way to fall.
Under a newly expanded version of the state’s “move over-slow down” law, motorists not only must continue yielding to police, fire and emergency vehicles, they soon must provide the same protection for Texas Department of Transportation workers.
Effective Sept. 1, motorists will be required to move over or slow down when approaching TxDOT workers and vehicles stopped with overhead flashing blue or amber lights.
More than 100 TxDOT employees working in construction areas have been struck and killed by motorists since 1938, according to information of the city of Fort Worth’s website.
Under the newly expanded move-over law, motorists must move out of the lane closest to the TxDOT vehicle when possible or reduce speed to 20 mph below the posted limit.
If the road offers no multiple lanes, motorists must slow down. Those traveling roadways with posted speed limits of 25 mph or less must reduce their speed to 5 mph. Violators can be fined up to $2,000.